I tell all of my students that there is only one thing that separates us from other animals and that is our ability to reflect on ourselves.  I have been keeping personal journals since I was about sixteen years old.  I have several volumes (diary books) filled with information about specific moments in my life and things that are happening around me.  I find it interesting that reflection is the one thing that determines who we are.  In creating this PLP I looked back on the original plan and discovered that most of the goals that I had set for myself were still relevant and applicable.  I decided that there were a few more to add and I did this on the final page.  One of the things that I still struggle with is setting up a personal, collaborative learning network.  I am just not a big fan of sites like Twitter.  There is so much going on that is not related to what I want that I just don't have the patience to sift through it all.  I like my RSS feeds as they keep me current on all of the news and information coming out in technology.  I like the Facebook format; being able to post and read posts while not being overrun by a ton of other things.  I still need to decide on where I want to focus my time, as I have so little of it.

Speaking of little time, devoting time to personal development is another area I struggle with.  I have a house, three kids (who are busy), a wife (just as busy) and two jobs that demand most of my time.  More and more it seems like personal gets put on the back burner.  I will have to work to find ways to meet these needs as well. 

I know that I will not be teaching the same way I did last year as a result of the things that I learned in these courses.  I have already begun to set several things in motion that will change the way my district uses some of the tools we learned.  I tried to focus on and choose a few tools to get good at so that I could speak intelligently about them to others and share what I have learned with them.  I believe that the tools I have chosen to focus on will not only benefit me, but my peers and students as well. 

This has been an interesting six weeks and I hope to make some big improvements in the way I teach technology and with technology.  I will be posting my goals in my classroom as a reminder to myself where I want to go in the next year  and to model goal setting for my students. 
7/28/2011 10:15:18 am

I love your pamphlet. What a great way to share your Professional Learning Plan. It shows a great deal of reflection and learning and of course, so many of your great photographs. You are amazing! I am so glad I had the opportunity to go through these courses with you.

Reply
Kim Powell
7/28/2011 10:29:49 am

Keith-
Your book is amazing! You not only are a talented photographer, but also a very amazing teacher. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to collaborate with you on our group leadership project. I look forward to seeing you accomplish your future goal! I will definitely contacting you in the future- you have so much knowledge to share! Looking forward to integrating some of the project ideas you shared with me in class this summer!

Reply
Melissa Thompson
7/28/2011 10:32:59 am

Keith, I like how you put a lot of details into your professional learning plan and used your own pictures in the various pages. You have a lot of great goal set out for the future!!

Reply
7/28/2011 01:59:20 pm

Obviously the photos and the layout is great. I found myself nodding my head a great deal reading your Learning Plan and reflection. I know others in our class love smart phones but I had a similar reaction to you. But I also had a similar reaction in that it has been great to get a smattering of technology that I didn't know existed and to work with the other people in the class.

Reply
1/28/2012 07:50:09 am

good post

Reply
1/28/2012 12:24:21 pm

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
2/28/2012 07:01:09 pm

Information is good to use. I will need more to read.

Reply
3/21/2012 03:28:57 pm

good post

Reply
3/28/2012 04:04:22 am

will be restored quickly

Reply
3/30/2012 12:37:04 am

Many thanks for data

Reply



Leave a Reply.