I am torn on this one.  I liked having the checklist to remind me of the elements that should go into every lesson plan to make it the most effective.  However, I also know and felt like this checklist was way to long to be useful for lesson evaluation everytime.  Plenty of research shows that lists can be recalled best when kept to between 3 and 5 items.  That is why most speechs have threee main points and why lists are given in the "top three" items format.  Even phone numbers and social security numbers are broken into 3 and 4 segment lists.  There has to be a happy medium.  There should be a checklist that highlights the critical areas while keeping the list to shorter that 3 pages at 8 point font.  I was able to identify several barriers and features in the lesson plan that I created.  I used the UDL principles to highlight them in different colors for quicker recognition and increases recall.  Again, helpful but too darn long to be practical for everyday use. 



Leave a Reply.